you're reading...
Entrepreneurship, Lessons Learned, Mompreneurs, Women in Business

Sometimes We, Especially Mompreneurs, Need to Restart and Reassess

I need to admit 2015 was bad. As a single mompreneur, I realized that the road to success in my personal and professional life wasn’t going to be all champagne and roses but 2015 was especially trying. No need to get into details but I am glad that I took time to restart, jumpstart and reassess what I am doing.

I do believe that for me to be successful, I have to compartmentalize my life. I can’t be a great mom or a business woman if I don’t take the time to TCB, prioritize and focus. And even though I know in my heart, that I will be a better mom, nay better person, if I continue my dream of business ownership it doesn’t take away the guilt that I feel when my decisions negatively impact my son. I say to myself that in the long run I am creating a legacy for my son to follow and that he will learn that when there’s a will there is a way. He can create his own destiny and hopefully pass this on to my grandkids.

Being in the moment, was my resolution for this year. As the business grew, I found myself spending time with my son yet answering calls, emails and texts. Or I found myself being with one client and working on another client’s project. Or when I worked to growing my business feeling like I was not giving clients enough attention. (Like now!J) And forget all the other committees and volunteer positions. Those didn’t make it to my radar and the mompreneur guilt grows.

Hence the reassessing. I took this week to ask myself what is the priority? How much time do I have to dedicate to these priorities? What is the way forward? I believe I have to go back to my thoughts when I started. These are:

  • Business hours – I need to let clients know that my hours are 9-5 and that’s when I am happy to take calls and will respond to emails. After those hours clients are on my schedule and please be patient for responses.
  • Parent hours – My son is in school so to be a great parent is to get off the computer from 5- bedtime and focus on him.
  • Weekends – It’s my son’s time and time for me to work on growing my business. Luckily, there’s plenty of time for both.
  • Hire an assistant – When my client level reaches past 3, I need an assistant to get the details done. I call this person the promise keeper. When I look at my project management tool, Asana, I see a lot of tasks that need follow up.
  • Networking – I need to get out once a week and meet potential customers. Can’t grow if no one knows!

So, I am restarting in 2016. And going back to a way of doing business that gave this mompreneur the best chance of achieving success EVERYWHERE in my life and enjoying the ride again.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Sometimes We, Especially Mompreneurs, Need to Restart and Reassess

  1. This is very true. Wonderful pieces of advice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Holly Becker Zimmerman | April 11, 2016, 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

